It is now 40 years since the first release of the most talked-about galactic saga. The work of George Lucas is in good shape, it has been improved over time and it has millions of fans waiting for new adventures. In this post we will present two order options to watch the Star Wars saga.

In view of the release of episode VIII in cinema, you will have probably thought about watching the whole saga again in order to remember the storyline, famous scenes and epic battles. With The Last Jedi just around the corner, we give you two options so you can watch again the Star Wars movies.

As you know, one of the curiosities of the saga is the date each film has been released. Thus, the Classic Trilogy began from episode IV in 1977 under the title A New Hope. This was followed by The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and later came Return of the Jedi (1983). Then came the prequel Trilogy with episodes I, II and III to complete the story of the Skywalker family. And more recently you will find Rogue One as a spin-off of the main plot and the current trilogy, with The Force Awakens, The Last Jedi and the future episode IX.

Release order

If you want to follow the release dates, this is the option you should take to watch the Star Wars saga. You will watch first the so-called Classic Trilogy, which includes episodes IV, V and VI. Hence you would jump to episode I, the Phantom Menace, which was released 14 years later. You will notice here a technological leap forward, as the film industry has hugely improved over the years. During this Prequel Trilogy you will continue with episodes II and III, which are connected to the story of the Classic Trilogy.

From 2005 you will go to 2015, with one of the most recent releases, episode VII: The Force Awakens. This seventh episode will begin 30 years after the events of Return of the Jedi, which starts the new trilogy. To end the release order option, you must stop at Rogue One: A Star Wars story. This spin-off is about the events that take place between episode III and episode IV, just before the start of the Classic Trilogy.

In short, this is the order you should follow:

Story order

This option will allow you to follow the story in a logical manner. This way you will avoid leaps in time between the two trilogies, so that you can fully understand the plots. If you follow this order to watch the Star Wars saga, all events will happen as a series divided into several chapters.

If you choose this option, the order would be as follows:

+ Posts